We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Our site will work without cookies enabled however you will not be able to login to members only or administrative areas and Facebook and Twitter buttons will not be as interactive. We do not gather or share any personal information. Recent changes in European Law mean we must gain your consent to use cookies which is why you are seeing this notice. More information in our Privacy Policy.

Lisburn Sub Aqua Club

Equivalent BSAC Grades

Diver Training OrganisationBSAC Qualification

All ‘Entry Level’ qualifications (which typically do not include rescue training) such as:

  • CMAS One Star Diver
  • NASDS Open Water Diver and Advanced Open Water Diver
  • NAUI Scuba Diver and Advanced Scuba Diver
  • PADI Open Water Diver
  • PADI Advanced Open Water Diver/AOWD Plus
  • Royal Navy Ships Diver
  • SAA Open Water Diver
  • SSI Open Water Diver and Advanced Open Water Diver
BSAC Ocean Diver

All ‘Second Level’ qualifications (which must include rescue training) such as:

  • CMAS Two Star Diver
  • HSE Commercial Diver:
  • HSE Scuba Diver/HSE Surface Supply Diver/HSE Surface Supply (Top Up) Diver/HSE Closed Bell Diver
    (formerly HSE Diver Part 4, 3, 1 and 2 respectively)
  • NASDS Rescue Diver
  • NAUI Scuba Rescue Diver
  • PADI Rescue Diver
  • SAA Club Diver
  • SSAC Third Class Diver/Sports Diver
  • SSI Advanced Open Water Diver with ‘Stress and Rescue’ Speciality
  • Army Compressed Air Diver
Sports Diver

All ‘Third Level’ qualifications (which must include dive leadership training) such as:

  • NASDS Dive Supervisor
  • NAUI Divemaster
  • PADI Divemaster
  • SAA Dive Leader
  • SSI Dive Control Specialist
Dive Leader

Any higher level of qualification, such as:

  • CMAS Three Star Diver
  • SAA Dive Supervisor
  • SSAC Second Class Diver/ Master Diver

Because of the variation allowed in training for the higher diving qualifications awarded by US diver training agencies,
BSAC is unable to accept them as being of a similar standard to BSAC Advanced Diver. However,
Branch Diving Officers can judge additional experience and training on a case-by-case basis.

Advanced Diver